Connect with us


When is Black Ops 6 happening? The timeline explained



Black Ops 6’s story picks up several threads from previous Black Ops games, but when exactly does it take place? Here’s everything you need to know about BO6’s timeline and where it fits into the overall narrative.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 brings an all-new single-player campaign, set in the same universe as the other games in the Black Ops series. But with the return of characters like Frank Woods and Adler, you might be wondering when BO6 is set.

So here’s where the story of Black Ops 6 takes place and where it fits into the timeline of other games in the series.

When is Black Ops 6 happening?

Black Ops 6 takes place in 1991, as confirmed by Treyarch. It is a direct sequel to 2020’s Black Ops Cold War, which took place in the early and mid-1980s. The campaign will depict the Gulf War, which lasted until 1991.

Frank Woods, who appeared in the first Black Ops game from 2010, will play a central role in the story as he adapts to a “new role within the CIA” after being left wheelchair-bound by Raul Menendez at the end of Black Ops 2.

Black Ops 6 takes place after the events of Cold War.

Black Ops 6 Timeline

Since Black Ops 6 takes place in the early 90s, this is the fourth game in the Black Ops series on the canonical level. Indeed, Black Ops 2 is split between two distinct timelines, one of which focuses on Frank Woods and Alex Mason from 1986 to 1989.

Check out the full Black Ops timeline below:

  • Black Ops : 1961-1968
  • Black Ops Cold War : 1984
  • Black Ops 2 (flashback missions): 1986-1989
  • Black Ops 6 : 1991
  • Black Ops 2 (future missions): 2025
  • Black Ops 4 : 2040s
  • Black Ops 3 : 2065

Are Mason and Hudson alive in Black Ops 6?

No, Alex Mason and Jason Hudson are not alive in the Black Ops 6 campaign. This was confirmed by several content creators and media outlets who attended an early BO6 event, where Treyarch revealed that the original Black Ops protagonist and his handler are dead by the time this story takes place.

This confirms that the ending of Black Ops 2 where Alex Mason is killed is canon, after fans were left in limbo for years. The game features several different endings, including one where Mason survives after being shot by Menendez and lives to be 93 years old.

However, Black Ops 6 follows the ending where Mason doesn’t make it, so don’t expect to see the character appear during the campaign except in flashbacks.

And that’s everything you need to know about the Black Ops 6 timeline and when the game takes place. If you’re more of a fan of multiplayer, many locations in the campaign will appear as new maps where you can try out the new multi-directional movement and class system.

Copyright © Esports Extras | All Rights Reserved | 2021-2024